TENDENCIES ’19

the overview effect

27/04/19

09/06/19

BOZARLAB

Rue Ravensteinstraat 23

1000 Brussels

Pour l’exposition ‘TENDENCIES’, le commissaire Raphaël Stevens a sélectionné six artistes belges, dont le Space Farming Project du collectif international SEAD (Angelo Vermeulen) développé en collaboration avec Gluon. Le projet  » Space Farming  » envisage l’avenir de l’humanité dans un contexte interstellaire. En collaboration avec une équipe d’experts associés à Howest, Angelo Vermeulen a développé des expériences et des prototypes qui étudient plus profondément la culture des plantes dans l’espace.

L’exposition TENDENCIES met en lumière des œuvres qui questionnent autant qu’elles incorporent des innovations scientifiques et technologiques. Pour sa quatrième édition, elle interroge notre rapport aux futurs possibles, qu’ils soient dystopiques ou utopiques. Les installations sonores et visuelles de six artistes sont rassemblées pour provoquer un effet de surplomb (« overview effect »), comme celui ressenti par certains astronautes lorsqu’ils observent la Terre depuis l’espace et prennent conscience de la fragilité de la vie.

L’intelligence artificielle nous aidera-t-elle à habiter la Terre en bonne intelligence avec l’ensemble des êtres vivants ou au contraire nous dévoilera-t-elle nos propres limites et celles de notre mode de développement ? TENDENCIEStente de répondre…

heures d'ouverture

Tuesday to Sunday 10 am - 6 pm Thursday, 10 am - 9 pm Closed on Monday

frais d'entrée

FREE ENTRANCE

TENDENCIES ’19

the overview effect

27/04/19

09/06/19

BOZARLAB

Rue Ravensteinstraat 23

1000 Brussels

For the exhibition ‘TENDENCIES’, curator Raphaël Stevens selected six Belgian artists, including the Space Farming Project of the international collective SEAD (Angelo Vermeulen) developed in collaboration with Gluon. The ‘Space Farming’ project looks ahead to the future of mankind in an interstellar context. In collaboration with a team of experts associated with Howest, Angelo Vermeulen developed some experiments and prototypes that further investigate the cultivation of plants in space.

The TENDENCIES exhibition focuses on works that question scientific and technological innovations as much as they incorporate them. For this fourth edition, it looks at our relationship with possible futures, be they dystopian or utopian. Sound and visual installations by six artists are brought together to provoke an overview effect, like that experienced by certain astronauts when they observe Earth from space and realise how fragile life is.

Will artificial intelligence help all human beings to live together on Earth intelligently or, on the contrary, will it reveal our own limitations and those of our development strategy? TENDENCIES tries to find an answer…

 

opening hours

Tuesday to Sunday 10 am - 6 pm Thursday, 10 am - 9 pm Closed on Monday

entry fee

FREE ENTRANCE